Discussion Forum Leica S System Alternative Lenses S2 + S to H adaptor with 100/2.2 questions
    issa918

Hello members, i’m new to S2. Reading all these threads made me deciding to go for an used S2-P and my friend also got him a S2 + 70 after try my camera. :-p

My H to S adaptor and 100/2.2 were arrived today, and I couldn’t wait to try a few test at home. I have several manual lenses in V mount, but after awhile I felt I need an AF lens and leaf shutter for fast flash sync speed, I skipped S lenses because of the lack of the focal length I normally use (80-100mm, I do portraits 90% of time). I have a few questions and wish for your help.

More information, my S2-P is updated with current firmware.

1. The display shows my lens is 101mm and maximum aperture value is f2.3

2. I had a contax 645, and I love the AF button on thumb a lot. I set the S2 in MF mode, and assigned the rear button beside the VF as AFs. The focusing was a bit slow and hunt sometimes, but maybe due to the insufficient light (f2.3, 1/60s, iso640), I guess. Is it the case?

3. When I was using the manual lenses, I half press the shutter release, there’s a focusing indicator, >•<. But the indicator only shows > while I’m using HC100. Or if i have hit the focus, the dot will be lit no matter how I turn the focusing ring. But if I mount my manual lenses again, it works perfectly.

Are these only my camera or lens issue? Or it’s normal?

Please share with your experience and will be very thankful!

cheers!

issa918

Just an upate, I have just discovered another issue.

It has happened twice today that my S2 won’t fire suddenly, but it was working again when I unmount the lens and release the shutter, or with other manual lenses. Also restart the camera won’t help, I had to unmount the lens and remount again to make it working.

I think the adaptor is faulty. Had sent a mail to Leica and the shop I got the adaptor from. Will update when Leica has any replies for this issue.